Researcher Profiles

This page provides a brief introduction to our research active staff and their areas of interest. Please see our publications page for research outputs.

Tim Gander

tim@themindlab.ac.nz

Education Director

Qualifications: Master of Education
Background / Experience:

Secondary education, digital and collaborative learning
Research Interests:
Initial Teacher Education, Critical Reflection, Critical Pedagogy, Social Justice, Agency

Dr Craig Hilton

craig@themindlab.ac.nz

National Academic Director

Qualifications: PhD
Background / Experience:

Science, biotechnology, biomedical research, art
Research Interests:
Art practice to facilitate public conversation about biotechnology and science

Dr Jonathan Lynch

jonathan@themindlab.ac.nz

Postgraduate Director

Qualifications: PhD Education (outdoor learning)
Background / Experience:

Education Outside the Classroom, Environmental Education, Higher Education
Research Interests:
Curriculum making, environmental education, posthumanism and education, place-based pedagogy, mobilities in education
ORCiD https://orcid.org/0000-0002-4765-6504

Dr David Parsons

david@themindlab.ac.nz

National Postgraduate Director

Qualifications: PhD Information Technology
Background / Experience:

Software development, higher education, technology enhanced learning
Research Interests:
Agile and lean methods, digital curricula, mobile learning
ORCiD https://orcid.org/0000-0002-9815-036X

Dr Truman Pham

truman@themindlab.com

Online Educator

Qualifications: PhD
Background / Experience:

Engineering, electrical engineering, power generation
Research Interests:
Application of Artificial Intelligence in Education, Technology Education, Online Learning and Assessments, Blended Learning.
ORCiDhttps://orcid.org/0000-0002-3965-9297

Dr Hayley Sparks

hayley@themindlab.ac.nz

National Academic Manager

Qualifications: PhD, Geography
Background / Experience:

Digital technology in education, practice based research, how systems of privilege operate to shape the lived realities of children.
Research Interests:
Intersection of geography and education, understanding relationships between people and place.
ORCiD https://orcid.org/0000-0002-6685-7280

Dr Herbert Thomas

herbert@themindlab.ac.nz

Postgraduate Director

Qualifications: PhD
Background / Experience:

Technology-integrated education; leadership and management of technology-integrated education in secondary and tertiary institutions.
Research Interests:
Complexity in education; critical pedagogy; educational leadership in complex environments; value-sensitive design in education.
ORCiDhttps://orcid.org/0000-0002-3752-791