Researcher Profiles

This page provides a brief introduction to our research active staff and their areas of interest. Please see our publications page for research outputs.

Tim Gander

Emailtim.gander@themindlab.ac.nz
RoleEducation Director
Qualifications: Master of Education
PhD Candidate (USQ)
Background / Experience:

Secondary education
digital and collaborative learning
Research Interests:
Initial Teacher Education
Critical Pedagogy
Coaching
Social Justice
Agency
ORCiDhttps://orcid.org/0000-0001-7388-3519

Dr Craig Hilton

Emailcraig@themindlab.ac.nz
RoleNational Academic Director
Qualifications PhD
Background / ExperienceScience
biotechnology
biomedical research
art
Research InterestsArt practice to facilitate public conversation about biotechnology and science
ORCiDpending

Dr Jonathan Lynch

Emailjonathan@themindlab.ac.nz
RolePostgraduate Director
Qualifications: PhD Education (outdoor learning)
Background / Experience:

Education Outside the Classroom
Environmental Education
Higher Education
Research Interests:
Curriculum making
environmental education
posthumanism and education|
place-based pedagogy
mobilities in education
ORCiDhttps://orcid.org/0000-0002-4765-6504

Dr David Parsons

Emaildavid.parsons@themindlab.ac.nz
RoleNational Postgraduate Director
Qualifications: PhD Information Technology
Background / Experience:

Software development
higher education
technology enhanced learning
Research Interests:
Agile and lean methods
digital curricula
mobile learning
ORCiDhttps://orcid.org/0000-0002-9815-036X

Dr Truman Pham

Emailtruman.pham@themindlab.ac.nz
RolePostgraduate Director
Qualifications: PhD
Background / Experience:

Engineering
electrical engineering
power generation
Research Interests:
Artificial Intelligence in Education
Technology Education,
Online Learning and Assessments
Blended Learning.
ORCiDhttps://orcid.org/0000-0002-3965-9297

Dr Hayley Sparks

Emailhayley@themindlab.ac.nz
RoleNational Academic Manager
QualificationsPhD, Geography
Background / ExperienceDigital technology in education
practice based research
how systems of privilege operate to shape the lived realities of children.
Research InterestsIntersection of geography and education
understanding relationships between people and place.
ORCiD https://orcid.org/0000-0002-6685-7280

Dr Herbert Thomas

Emailherbert.thomas@themindlab.ac.nz
RoleProgramme Lead
Qualifications PhD
Background / ExperienceTechnology-integrated education;
leadership and management of technology-integrated education in secondary and tertiary institutions.
Research InterestsComplexity in education
critical pedagogy
educational leadership in complex environments
value-sensitive design in education.
ORCiDhttps://orcid.org/0000-0002-3752-791X